This shard of ice was on Lake Superior by the Apostle Islands in Wisconsin. The sun's warm light had almost disapeared completely from the sky. When I saw this shard of ice in the snow reflecting the last of this warm light against the deep blues reflected from the comming night sky, I had to capture this.

The Shard and The Arcanum

This shard of ice was on Lake Superior by the Apostle Islands in Wisconsin. The sun’s warm light had almost disappeared completely from the sky. When I saw this shard of ice in the snow reflecting the last of this warm light against the deep blues reflected from the coming night sky, I had to capture this. Please see this image as large as possible! (Click the image!)

This shard of ice was on Lake Superior by the Apostle Islands in Wisconsin. The sun's warm light had almost disapeared completely from the sky. When I saw this shard of ice in the snow reflecting the last of this warm light against the deep blues reflected from the comming night sky, I had to capture this.
A shard of ice on Lake Superior, after sunset.

 

I have to thank my experience in The Arcanum for processing this image. Everything from the fire to go and run up to Lake Superior for a day, to brave the elements, to see the sights, camera in hand, and then, as light was about to fade away completely, there is this shard asking for my attention. It was a little bit more of a scream. I tried to make ice look as sharp as I could. (Ice is never really sharp, you know that?)

When I brought it back into Adobe Lightroom I knew I had something worth sharing. But I also knew I wasn’t done with it! It was explained to me that I needed to “purify the colors”. I never knew what that meant. Then, one of my cohort members, Kyle VanEttan showed me how in a video critique.  It wasn’t just his critique that helped. There were others too.

I learned a lot. And when I get another chance to shoot such an interesting landscape, I’ll know a little more to make even better captures. There will be better pictures in my future. More fuel for the processing fire. There will be more fuel to share with you. And the connections that I’ve made in The Arcanum will provide trusted resources to improve each other for years to come.

That is just the first 10 levels of learning with The Arcanum. I’ve learned a lot about my style when I didn’t think I had any style. I’ve learned about where I want to take this. I’ve gained… a compass. The next 10 levels, I suspect I’ll learn to chart my course.

Thanks for reading.  If you’re interested in The Arcanum, you know what to do.

Thanks again,

Adam

Leave a Reply

