Arlington Heights “Irish Fest”

The Mike and Joe Band

In Arlington Heights, IL, we have an Irish Fest every year. It’s a festival to help the local history museum. All the usual suspects come out for such a thing to sell stuff, art, food and beer all with heavy Irish leanings, or course. But I’d never taken photos of a band before and this was a good time to do that.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


I have to say I’ve been a little pre-occupied lately. My art has been getting a lot to think through, improve, and hopefully change for the better. I’ve recently become an “apprentice” with The Arcanum. This isn’t an apprenticeship like you hear about. I’m not doing some other photographer’s crap work.

I’m a student. I study under a master who has 19 other students. The students form a cohort. Together we have an opportunity to discus each other’s work, learn from others, and grow in our art of photography. We get assignments from our master. These five photos I’m sharing was “Never Done Before”.  They aren’t the best band photos in the world, but they aren’t terrible in my humble opinion, either.

I don’t think I would have tried it without the nudge from the master. It’s sort of on the edge of what my camera and lens can do. I used my fastest lens and kept the exposure 1 stop under to keep the shutter fast without cranking up the noise to unacceptable levels.

The band sounded great, though. They weren’t ‘noise’. 🙂

One thought on “Arlington Heights “Irish Fest””

Leave a Reply

