Where my photography began.

This picture below is where it started for me. 11 months ago I took a trip to Yellowstone National Park, Muir Woods, LA, the Grand Canyon, and then headed home.

This is a picture of Fairy Falls. I had THAT CAMERA (a P&S Nikon P510 w/42x zoom lens). The woman in the photo left the scene not long after taking the picture and I had the entire area to myself. I took my time. There was no rush. My vacation just began!

This photo is a fresh reprocessing of a three shot bracket I took at the time. I didn’t even know how to process HDR at the time! I just knew I needed a bracket of photos! (Full disclosure, some days I still feel like I don’t know how to process HDR.)

Fairy Falls The first time

Ever since then I hadn’t stopped learning. But there’s so much more to learn. I’m really just at the beginning of this journey.

But at the time of taking this photo I do remember remarking to myself how the sun at about the time of the Summer Solstice would rise far enough north (I hope!) to light the falls directly. So far I still think I’m right. Google Earth and other tools make me think I might be right. But there aren’t many photographs of this fall at opportunistic moments.

It’s time I find out how much I really have learned about this photography thing! On Sunday morning I’ll be there.

It’s the start of a two week vacation. It will be awesome!

This also means that starting Friday, updates will be spars as I will be traveling and in very wi-fi unfriendly places.

Leave a Reply

