The Loop’s Gateway

I went to Chicago on the evening of Sunday March 23, 2014 and I parked by the Adler Planetarium on Solidarity Drive because it’s only $2/hr and the parking times go on until pretty late at night. (Although, the police try to get everyone out of there by 11 pm, but I have trouble finding signs that say when you aren’t supposed to park there.)  I walked from there to get a chance to see “Chicagohenge” which was coined by the folks at OutOfChicago.com. (It was a term to call attention to the fact that Chicago has East/West streets that will give you a sunset / sunrise during the spring and fall equinox because that’s when the sun rises and falls due east and west.) It was a little late in the year. But I think I will have a decent sunset shot later to show.

BUT! Chicago is wonderful feeding ground for panoramas and night photography! I walked pretty much due west to State Street from the museum campus, and then walked due north to Wacker to view the Chicago River. That is where I took the picture I am posting today. It was such a cool view. There was a sign there that said that it was the “Gateway to the Loop”. Indeed the view from this intersection when looking north is a view that opens up and shows the sky and the full scope of the buildings across the Chicago River.

This is a image stitched from 7 HDR processed brackets at State and Wacker in Chicago. Chicago lables this location as the Gateway to the Loop, but this photo is looking away from the loop to the near north side of downtown.

This is a image stitched from 7 HDR processed brackets at State and Wacker in Chicago. Chicago lables this location as the Gateway to the Loop, but this photo is looking away from the loop to the near north side of downtown.

I did seven brackets from left to right with the camera in a portrait position. I did the brackets by manually setting the exposure so I wouldn’t have different processing across the brackets. After processing the HDR brackets, I then combined them into a single panorama where I cropped it.

Leave a Reply

