St. Hyacinth Basilica’s Dome: time, perseverance, and patience

Today I was struggling to venture into new territory for me. The art of the photo stitch when encompassing what is overhead has been a little difficult until today! Just yesterday I visited both, St. Hyacinth Basilica and St. Mary of the Angels churches in Chicago. It was my second visit for St. Mary of the Angels but my first for St. Hyacinth Basilica.

I was really awe struck by their dome! I thought it was grand and detailed. So much care must have gone into it’s original construction. It was built from 1917 through 1921. There is so much more to this church. I hope to have more pictures from this place in the future. This parish started in the 1890s with less than 20 families. In time, perseverance, and patience, the parish grew flourished with this amazing structure.

The only things limiting my ability to take photos I want to show is the same: time, perseverance, and patience. I was beginning to think that I wasn’t going to be able to put this photo together. I t is a panorama of 20 or more photos. Because it is a spherical panorama, I wasn’t sure just how much angular overlap was needed at the very height of the dome. But Photoshop was not doing it right. It kept breaking things out at very odd angles. It might have gone better if I used a panorama bracket on my tripod, but I don’t have one.

But there kept hope! I kept looking for a cure. Surely the geometry wasn’t impossible to overcome! Sure enough, Microsoft has a FREE program called ICE (Image Composite Editor ) and it does GREAT! Why is it able to do this when Photoshop can’t? I have no idea. It does it well. Anyways, when it was done generating it, I had it saved as a TIFF and made some basic and practical edits in Lightroom, and now you see what you see!

The dome of St Hyacinth Basilica, Chicago.
The dome of St Hyacinth Basilica, Chicago.

Leave a Reply

